Skip to content Skip to footer

Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Qurbani

The act of sacrificing a halal four-legged mammal on 10th Dhu al-Hijjah, on Eid al Adha, bought with halal earnings, is commonly called Qurbani. It also serves as remembrance of the ultimate sacrifice that Prophet Ibrahim (AS) was willing to make for Allah (SWT).
10th, 11th and 12th of Dhul Hijjah are the days for Qurbani.
Qurbani is obligatory on every sane Muslim, and generally applies to those who are eligible to pay Zakat.
Halal four legged animals can be sacrificed as qurbani, which are goat, sheep, cattle (cow, ox, buffalo) or camel.
It is considered more virtuous to slaughter the animal oneself. If one does not know how to slaughter, it is preferred that he/she remain present while someone else is sacrificing the animal. It is not necessary to make the niyyah (intention) of Qurbani with the tongue, however it is necessary to say Bismillahi Allahu Akbar when slaughtering.

1. Use a sharp knife and slaughter the animal quickly so that it does not suffer.
2. Do not sharpen the knife in front of the animal.
3. After slaughtering, do not skin the animal before it becomes completely cold.
4. Do not slaughter one animal in the presence of another.

It is desirable for one who intends to perform Qurbani to refrain from cutting hair or clipping nails from 1st Zul Hijjah to 10th Zul Hijjah, (i.e., until after Qurbani).
The Qurbani process complies with the appropriate Islamic method under the supervision of Chairman Mufti Abdul Wahab whenever possible.
Yes, certainly. Our beloved Prophet S.A.W made multiple Qurbanis also on the behalf of the Ummah. You can also give Qurbani on behalf of our beloved Prophet S.A.W. You can also give Qurbani on behalf of the deceased Muslim. These will all be in addition to your own Qurbani.
The earlier the donation is made the better it is as we start our purchasing before the Eid days.
That is not permissible as Qurbani itself is a separate obligation.

Above 5000 families benefit from the Qurbani each year. We prioritized:

  • Elderly citizens
  • People with disability
  • Orphans
  • Widows
  • Refugees displaced from their homes.